

REBUILDING TRUST AND HOPE The Pastoral Plan of the Diocese of Antigonish

COMMUNIQUÉ No. 1

February 22, 2014

Following the success of the Diocesan Congress in October, 2013, the Diocesan Congress Planning Committee collected, compiled and created a comprehensive summary of the recommendations of the Proposed Pastoral Plan. That document, entitled Rebuilding Trust and Hope, The Pastoral Plan of the Diocese of Antigonish, has been published, printed and distributed to each parish and diocesan office. An electronic version is also available on the diocesan website.

Profound gratitude is extended to the Diocesan Congress Planning Committee for their meticulous guidance in this process and contribution to the future of our diocese.

To oversee the process of implementing the recommended Congress priorities and strategies, Bishop Brian Dunn appointed, in November, an IMPLEMENTATION **COMMITTEE** of twenty people. The committee membership represents the respective deaneries and other members at large. The appointments are for a three year period with possible renewal.

The Committee first met in December to review and become acquainted with the document *Rebuilding Trust and Hope*. At that meeting, Bishop Dunn reminded us that it is a living document, a process that demands transparency and accountability. He also stated that many of the strategies are currently in place in many parishes.

At our January meeting, the positions of Secretary and Finance Minister were filled. We also identified that under the six priorities (major themes) 75 strategies were identified. We have collated this information and are in the process of distributing the priorities and strategies that are particular to each diocesan office, interest group or individual. Further discussion ensued about communicating the progress of the process. At the Congress it was recommended that a Communications Director be appointed/hired for the diocese. Until that position is filled, we will use these communiqués to keep you current.

We are distributing these communiqués electronically via email and the diocesan website. We have used the distribution list created by the Congress Planning Committee, as well as contact information found on the diocesan website. However, not every delegate, parish or parishioner has access to electronic communication. We ask that you distribute these as widely as possible within your parish, committees, or organizations that will benefit from being informed.

MEMBERSHIP		
Bishop Brian Dunn		
Cecile Miller	Inverness	Co-chair
John Gillies	Inverness	
Patricia Norman	Antigonish/Guysborough	
Henry VandeWiel	Antigonish/Guysborough	
James O'Handley	Glace Bay	
Karen Bray	Glace Bay	
Norma Blinkhorn	Northside/Victoria	
David Lewis	Northside/Victoria	
Gary Rankin	Pictou	
Robert Rogers	Pictou	Finance Minister
Claire Doyle	Richmond	
Mary Samson	Richmond	
Sheila Morris	Sydney	
Donald Ward	Sydney	
Fr. Andrew M. Boyd	At large	Co-chair
Sr. Millie MacNeil	At large	
Fr. Bill Burke	At large	
Deacon Art Riley	At large	Secretary
Fr. Angus MacDougall	Pastoral Centre Director	

If you have any questions, suggestions or concerns, contact information for these members are available on the diocesan website.

As we rebuild trust and hope in the diocese,

Cecile Miller Co-chair Rev. Andrew M. Boyd Co-chair